If you want to explore online dating, OkCupid is a good place to start. OkCupid was founded in January 2004 as an online matchmaking service.
OkCupid’s reputation is demonstrated by the fact that it has been around for 15 years and is constantly expanding.
Therefore, if you’ve ever had any qualms about how to deactivate your OkCupid account because you don’t want to use OkCupid, you are at the right place.
How to deactivate an OkCupid account?
If you want to close your account aka deactivate your account. because you can’t close your account via the mobile app, you’ll have to do so on a computer:
- Log in to your account at okcupid.com.
- In the upper right corner, click on your profile.
- Select Settings from the dropdown menu that displays.
- From the left pane, select My Account.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Go Here link.
- Select Delete Account from the drop-down menu.
- Click Disable account if you want to disable your account. Others will perceive your account as disabled, but you can reactivate it at any time.
- A confirmation popup displays; in the Confirm field, type your password.
- At the bottom of the page, select Delete.
But hold on! If you want to save a record of your OkCupid conversation, make a copy of the messages before you shut your accounts.
If you ask for copies of them afterwards, you’ll have to pay for the whole thing… yeah that’s a bitter truth.
If you disable/delete OkCupid account, what happens to your paid subscription?
They will immediately halt any billing for you while your account is disabled if you paid for your subscription with PayPal or a credit card. However, if you re-enable your profile after your paying expiration date has passed, you will be required to pay for your subscription again. They will terminate your subscription permanently if you remove your account.
If you pay for your membership through iTunes or Google Play, those services don’t know when your OkCupid account is stopped, re-enabled, or even cancelled, so they don’t cease billing you. You must cancel your membership with iTunes or Google Play independently from deleting your OkCupid account if you want to stop being billed.
Can you reactive your okcupid account?
You can reactivate your account at any moment if you have disabled it previously. Simply enter your email address and password into OkCupid to do so.
OkCupid will ask you to confirm that you want to reactivate by showing you a prompt. If you select yes, your profile will be active and available on OkCupid once more.
You will not be able to reactivate your account if it has been removed. Deletion is irreversible. If you like, you may register a new account using the same email address.
What happens if you delete your okcupid account?
You won’t be able to re-enable your account or retrieve any messages if you delete it, and your username will be locked so it can’t be re-used. You’ll be able to register with the same email address, but you won’t be able to use the same username.
The bottom line
Your sent and received messages will stay until you return if your profile is disabled (not erased), but you will not receive any new messages. If someone tries to send you a message or reply to one you’ve sent, they’ll get a notification that you’re no longer active, and the (other) user will eventually be unable to send you any messages until you reactivate.
They will be able to see previous messages, but will not be able to respond until you reactivate your account. In addition, your profile image will be restored to the default greyed-out silhouette, and your profile will no longer be viewable by other users.